Ebooks
What you can learn from this page:
- Find ebooks using SEARCH.
- Learn how to use ebooks, including how to download a chapter from an ebook as a PDF.
Finding ebooks using SEARCH
- From the Library homepage, select ‘Sign in for complete results’ and sign in using your UOW username and password.
- Enter your keywords (e.g. romanticism).
- Under 'Source Types' select 'Books/ebooks' (you may have to select Show More to see them).
- Under 'Availability', select 'Available Online'.
- Refine your results with other filters such as 'Publication Date' or 'Subject' if you need to.
Using ebooks
Occasionally, there may be a limit to the number of people who can access an ebook at one time. You will need to check the 'Availability' section and wait until a copy becomes available.
For downloading and copying information, refer to the Help function located at the top of the page on each ebook platform or view the download limits available for each ebook.
In ProQuest Central, for example, to find the downloading and copying limits of an ebook:
- Click on 'Read Online'
- Choose the book icon on the top left
Log out of an ebook when you are finished using it to allow someone else to log in and read.
These tutorials will show you how to access, download, and print from ebooks.
Using ProQuest ebooks
Using EBSCO ebooks
Popular ebook collections
These are some of our more popular ebook platforms but you can find ebooks in most online databases.
- ACLS Humanities E-BookA collection of ebooks in the humanities. International. Full-text. Dates vary.
Please note: when reading ACLS ebooks online, Click on "Download" for fast access to chapter full-text. - DOAB: Directory of Open Access BooksAn ebook discovery service provided by OAPEN. Find an ebook and link through to full-text on the publisher site. All books in DOAB have a full Open Access License which makes them 'free to share'.
- ebook CentralEbooks from key academic publishers. Content covers all subject areas and focuses on recent titles, includes ProQuest Academic Complete ebooks.
- EBSCO ebook collection~ EBSCOhost databases are now authenticated via Single Sign-On (SSO). Please see this FAQ for important access instructions when you are signing in via SSO for the first time.~
A full text eBooks collection on the EBSCOhost platform. - Open Textbook LibraryOpen Textbook Library provides hundreds of textbooks that have been funded, peer reviewed, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed.
All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organisation.
